
three days. no booze. well, it's day three now, i haven't made it through the day yet. we'll see how i feel at last call, if i can make it through the night without a little gin & tonic to settle the shakes, calm the nerves, and help me to sleep...
haven't written in a bit, got lots of stuff to tell you i suppose...
had two shows this weekend. friday night at call the office, with aceyalone, bukue one, toolshed, and me. then sunday night at the embassy, with josh martinez, me, and thesis. i'll tell you about both of them. but first, some pictures of my show on friday, courtesy of jamie totten...


















in the photos, are my flatmate alanna, and homies lance and don, dancing on stage with me. i should have some photos of acey, bukue, and toolshed going up soon.
what a rough weekend. thursday night, band practice, get super fucked up and hit the bar after, stay up 'til the wee hours, and wake up feeling like ass. friday night, have a few beers before the show, get to the bar, and just sink so far into the bar immediately, i had no idea what was going on. great crowd, lots of people, i had a great time on stage. i sold a gang of cds, which is cool. going to have to re-up on those soon. kicked it for a while, chatting with folks, then hit another bar for last call, and again, back at the crib for some party action. got up saturday, another band practice, you should have seen the five of us... barely able to stand. i should have gone home, but somehow, decided to go out, hit some house party, another bar, back to the party, then back home again to stay up on the porch. sunday, show at the embassy. at this point, i really had no business being alive, but what can you do? got to the bar, it was rainy and cold and people just did not want to show up. the ceiling in the stage was leaking, what the fuck? there's nothing like performing while surrounded by buckets collecting brown rain water dripping through the roof all around you. not a huge crowd, but they were into it. sold a few more cds. it was fun. saw josh's show, which was cool.
so yeah, after that craziness, i decided to take a break for a while.
what else?
dreams, yes, dreams...

last week i had a weird one. i was in my room, and this squirrel kept coming into my room and trying to get into my closet. i kept kicking it out, was swinging a chair at it and everything, knocking it out of my room, but it kept coming back in, again and again, i have no idea what it was after. that squirrel took a beating, but just wouldn't quit. then this mystery person came into the apartment. not sure who he was, but in my dream i knew him. he was all beaten up, looked like he'd been in a bad fight. he started telling me how he'd just killed atmosphere. i'm like "huh? who?" and he's like "atmosphere, the guys from atmosphere, i just killed him!," talking about slug. i told him that he just made slug the kurt kobain of indie rap. weird shit.

i had another crazy one last night, i wrote it down somewhere this morning, i'll tell you about it tomorrow. whenever i quit drinking, i always have crazy, vivid dreams for a few days. and after i've quit drinking, when i start again, i always have crazy, vivid dreams for a few days. i should just go on a binge / quit cycle every other week, just for the dreams, that would totally be worth it...
okay, uh, i gotta go...

talk soon i hope,
ryan
ps. happy b-day to click...