Wednesday, October 05, 2005

if it wasn't for a mic check...

i wouldn't have a cheque at all...

rehab week. day 10. a few people have asked me, if it's rehab week, shouldn't it only be seven days? yeah, well, here's the deal... if i say it's rehab month, and i only last two weeks, it's a failure. if i say it's rehab week, and i last two weeks, it's more than a success. so, my goal was a week, and i made it, so now i'm just taking it one day at a time, seeing how i feel in each moment.

truth is, i'm craving a heineken like nobody's business. i think tomorrow will be the day.



sahra told me something about freud saying that the definition of insanity was repeating the same actions and expecting different results.

another dream last night, but unfortunately i can't remember it. again. i gotta remember to keep a pen and pad beside my bed, for morning and middle-of-the-night emergencies.



last night i'm working, and a buddy of mine comes in and tells me a little story about the aceyalone show i opened for last week. apparently acey wasn't too pleased with something i did during my show. at one point, between songs, to get the crowd amped, i started into the first verse of acey's "mic check," acapella... you know it... "i start most of my raps off kinda slow, so you can see exactly where i'm gonna go, i make sure your body's strapped in, 'cause i'ma tailspin and you're liable to get thrown, the bible is the microphone, i read from the scriptures, leave it up to you to see the picture..." or something like that. ended there. anyway, obviously, those in the crowd who knew those lyrics, got into it, sang along, and got hyped for the show. good times. a show of respect. apparently not to mr. hayes, who was on some "who's kicking my lyrics?" type of style. now, i don't know if this really happened or not. i didn't talk to dude that night. after my show, i had some beers, and hit up another bar. i didn't even watch his show. so this is just a little bit of juice through the grapevine, but still, i find it interesting. another cat i know asked acey for an autograph and was denied. and he was one of the dudes who organized the show! i don't know, what do you think? is dude tripping? i've got a lot of respect for the cat's history, shit, along with the pharcyde and hieroglyphics, freestyle fellowship is responsible for about 95% of the underground rappers doing shit today. it's just a bit weird when, especially in a small, isolated city like london, cats are HUNGRY for rap here, and when somebody like acey comes to town, it's a rare occurence, it's a big deal to these kids. dude, you got your money, can it hurt that bad to take a few minutes, sign an autograph, take a picture, and make some kid's year? "i hover above emcees, like a flying saucer, with the sorcery, to alter the future..."

lasers,
ryan

p.s. don't forget, rock hard and pull out.

2 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

acey is known for being a grumpy pants.
I dont blame him in a way, he's not where he should be.

11:50 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

"sahra told me something about freud saying that the definition of insanity was repeating the same actions and expecting different results."

and einstein said that no problem can be solved by the same thinking that created the problem...
hmmmmm why dont you let me solve all your problems and you can solve all of mine?
sarah

3:41 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home