Tuesday, January 31, 2006
Monday, January 30, 2006
isabelle's cat...
this is isabelle...

she lives in montreal. her cat is sick. here is her message...
"save my cat from death
My cat has to undergo surgery tomorrow and the only way I could think of making enough money to cover the fees is to install a kissing booth at the already HIP-HAPPENING-FUN TUESDAY night at Saphir. I may even pop in the DJ booth to get the place hoppin'. There will be a donation box for those who can spare a few dimes and a kissing booth with yours truly, dressed as hookery as damn possible and rates ranging from 1-5$ depending on the service... ahem. SO..... YOU SHOULD ALL COME TOMORROW PLEASE!!! MINI (my kitty) NEEDS YOU TO HELP HER!!!!!! SHE IS IN PAIN AND HER INTESTINES NEED TO BE UNTANGLED BEFORE SHE DIES!!!!!!! So, see you all there, I PROMISE I'll make it worth your while.
Thanks! Isabelle"
help the girl out. and don't let that photo scare you, she's a looker...

she lives in montreal. her cat is sick. here is her message...
"save my cat from death
My cat has to undergo surgery tomorrow and the only way I could think of making enough money to cover the fees is to install a kissing booth at the already HIP-HAPPENING-FUN TUESDAY night at Saphir. I may even pop in the DJ booth to get the place hoppin'. There will be a donation box for those who can spare a few dimes and a kissing booth with yours truly, dressed as hookery as damn possible and rates ranging from 1-5$ depending on the service... ahem. SO..... YOU SHOULD ALL COME TOMORROW PLEASE!!! MINI (my kitty) NEEDS YOU TO HELP HER!!!!!! SHE IS IN PAIN AND HER INTESTINES NEED TO BE UNTANGLED BEFORE SHE DIES!!!!!!! So, see you all there, I PROMISE I'll make it worth your while.
Thanks! Isabelle"
help the girl out. and don't let that photo scare you, she's a looker...
Thursday, January 26, 2006
ice-t & nwa...

first things first, this is tonight. the final "in divine style." i'm heading up to toronto in a couple hours. i hope to see you all there. if you don't know what this night is all about, my man addi (aka mindbender) tells the story here. it's been going for a few years now, here's an old article from eye weekly, when we first started the night. so anyway, i'll be up there, doing a few tracks, but mostly just there to support, and check out everybody else, and see some old friends, and maybe make a few new ones. everything we do, we do it in divine style. (yes, i know i already posted about this, but it's important.)

this is audra, sahra, and me. probably in the fall/winter of 2004. i was just talking to audra a couple of nights ago on the computer, hadn't spoken to her in a while. we were flatmates for most of 2004 in toronto. i like this photo and just found it again, so i thought i'd put it up. it makes me laugh and cry at the same time.

this party will rule.

this party must have ruled.

the bible of hiphop

real ultimate power.
if you live in montreal, check out my homie gregular's weekly party...


kops crew got some stuff happening in montreal.
best video ever.
your man mikah 9 (freestyle fellowship) is giving away his new album for free. get it here.
so yeah, toronto people, come out to the show. i'll buy you a beer, and uh, if it's cool, can i crash on your couch?
Tuesday, January 24, 2006
whistler while you work...

this is my younger brother colin (on the left) in whistler with some cats. he's getting married next summer in b.c., so i have to figure out a way to get out there... maybe i'll book a little tour, just do a bunch of shows, from city to city, heading west, until i'm there, with a beer in hand, watching my little brother grow up before me. good times...
Monday, January 23, 2006
tennis...
it's a strange feeling, when somebody you consider yourself close to, seems to shut you out of their life... and you sense that things are going on, that the person's life is changing, that there are things they're not telling you... and then you wonder if, perhaps they're simply busy, and will reach out eventually, but you feel like it's more than that, that there is a purposeful cut-off in contact, that there are things they don't want to tell you... are you being paranoid? are you being pushy, expecting more communication? i really have no idea... the difficult part is preparing yourself to not speak to that person anymore, if that should be the case... so, you make one last serve, and put on your blindfold, the ball is in their court, and you're not sure you want to see what they're going to do with it...
Sunday, January 22, 2006
everything we do, we do it...

this is the flyer for the FINAL "in divine styler" open-mic night in toronto. this is a weekly hip-hop night that my good friends mindbender and alexis have been running for years. i started the night with them years ago, and then when i left, they took it over, and have made it toronto's longest running weekly open-mic hip-hop night... congrats to them. you should be there. i'm going to do my best to be there. so i guess i'll see you there. i'll be the guy with the bad mohawk and the brown loafers, drinking heineken at the bar...
here's an old article from eye magazine, when we first started the night...
here are some of the old IDS flyers from when i was doing it, just for fun...






waiting for film...







last year in montreal i did two little short films with this dude etienne, and i've been bugging him for a year to send me dvd copies of 'em. i got a hold of him a few days ago, and he said they films are finally done, and he'll send me a dvd soon. these are a few photos from them. when i get the video, i'll let you know, i'll put clips up on my site...
sometimes life is a series of "coming soon..." moments.
and then, life happens.
make life happen now.
i'm going outside...
here comes the dude...

here comes the dude...



i've been talking about devin the dude for years - in my former vice column and online. looks like he's finally starting to get some of the proper shine he deserves. he hit canada twice last year (montreal and vancouver, both in the fall), and will be back in early february, for shows in montreal, ottawa, toronto, and london. if you don't know devin's music, you're wrong. you do know him, you just don't know you do. you've heard him with dr. dre & snoop, with r. kelly & jay-z, with too short, scarface, ugk, de la soul, and guest-crooning on an endless list of songs from the dirty south. even if you're an underground indie head, you've heard him with dilated peoples and j-zone. you do know him, you just don't know you do...
here is devin's new bio...
Devin the Dude
Bio 2006
by Matt Sonzala
The streets of Houston, Texas have produced some of the underground's hardest lyricists. From the first lines of Scarface's original independent single, to the earliest incarnation's of the notorious Geto Boys, to the syrup sticky musical revolution that was D.J. Screw (RIP), Houston has always been known for it's ugly side. The violent poems that emanated from the city starting in the mid-80's kind of stigmatized the entire town, shit, the entire region as being a hell on earth of sorts -- devoid of life and rife with horrific strife. Listen to any of the early Rap A Lot records from anywhere outside of H-Town and you'd be hard pressed to picture any sort of good in that town.
Then the Odd Squad came out.

It was 1994 when the world got their first taste of this band of misfits. Blind Rob, Jugg Mugg, DJ Styles, and the king of rap croonin', the hip-hop Redd Foxx, the Bill Withers / Too Short hybrid who told you to stick to that "Fa Sho Pussy" before you end up with no pussy, Devin. There's was a different message. While all of them came up in the same hoods as the southside rappers before them, for some reason they came with a different perspective. All three emcees were as raw as they came, but each concentrated on the lighter side of life in the hood. They've been through their share of strife, but preferred to write jams about wine, women, and weed. Much lighter vices than killin', shermin', and slangin' crack. The Odd Squad truly was one of the strongest breaths of fresh air hip-hop has ever seen.
Rewind…
Devin was born in St. Petersburg, Florida, but he didn't stay there long. In the 4th grade, his family moved to New Boston, TX, a small town near the border of Texas and Arkansas. His 4 brothers, one sister, and single mother didn't stay there long though. The family moved to Houston while Devin was in junior high, but as things got crazy and the streets began to take hold of this future talent, Dev's mom sent him back to New Boston.
"I went back to New Boston in the 10th grade." Devin remembers, "It was getting kind of wild and my mom was like 'Well, you might want to go live with your grandmother.' So I moved and went to high school out there. It was cool because people seemed to be interested in getting their grades right. So that helped out, but when I graduated I was like, 'Man, I want to go to Houston, I want to be a rapper. I want to make a record, and I want a 79 Seville.' That was my two goals when I left and I wanted to accomplish those. After I accomplished those I said to myself 'I guess I can just set goals and just do it now huh? Just let me keep trying.'"
And he kept trying. Long after his high school buddies had given up on the whole idea of rappin' as a career, Devin stuck to his guns and got on wherever he could. Rapping, popping, and break dancing were a big part of his life and never once did he quit on any of them. In fact, to this day, the man's known to bust a windmill at the drop of a hat.
When Devin started to take rappin' seriously, he was entering local talent shows, rhyming over other peoples beats, and trying to get on however possible. It was in the late 80's when he met Rob Quest at a talent show at Texas Southern University that was supposed to be hosted by Kurtis Blow and promised to drop a big load of cash in the winners lap. In the weeks before the contest, the entrants would all meet at the school to rehearse and develop their sets. Devin arrived as a solo artist, but ended up leaving a Coughee Brotha. (Coughee Brothaz being the Odd Squad and their extended family.)
"When I saw Rob up there during rehearsals, man he impressed me." Devin reflects on his first time meeting Rob Quest -- blind since the 7th grade -- one of the genre's most forward thinking, however underrated, producers. "Cuz he was on the drum machine and rappin' at the same time. Like Stevie Wonder would do a piano, Rob was up there with his drum machine, with his shades nigga, and rappin like a mahfucker. And that impressed me man so after a few rehearsals, it was like a week before the contest and me and Rob hooked up. And I went over to his place the following day and everyday that week and we was helping each other with the contest.
"And the day of the contest there was about 50 people who showed up and 30 people were performers. 10 people helped put up the show, and no Kurtis Blow. Actually, I was on stage doing my part, I had a Kangol on, long ass cord mic, and there was only 5 people out there and one of 'em was like 'Awwww Slick Rick Slick Rick.' So I stopped my whole show and I said 'NAWW THIS THICK DICK!' And I swung the mic like it was a…"
And THE DUDE was born…
"Then after that, we realized, 'Kurtis ain't here, these mahfuckers ain't got no money, let's go to the crib and get drunk.' So we dashed out of there. We don't know who won or nothing, and that's when we got it started."
Rob and Devin would sit in Rob's room in Houston's 3rd Ward everyday rappin' and making beats on Rob's archaic drum machine. The lure of blunts and hood groupies attracted Dev's long time friend Jugg Mugg to enter the picture, and soon the three got serious and began to record demos. Their first DJ was the late DJ Screw, and it was he who brought a tape to James Smith, President of Rap A Lot Records, who quickly signed the trio in 1992. Now Rap A Lot at the time was known exclusively for harder than thou acts like the Geto Boys, The Terrorists, and Ganksta Nip, but Smith saw something special in these guys and decided to give them a chance. The result of this signing was the instant classic "Fad Enuf Fa Erybody."
The entire hip-hop nation went crazy for this record, but it never saw the mainstream success that many expected it to see. The group continued to work their debut album and while disappointed with their less than expected sales, they stayed in the studio preparing for whatever was to come next. Around this time Devin was approached by Scarface who was crafting a group from members of his crew and extended family to come out as the Face Mob. Similar in concept to Biggie's Junior Mafia, and Snoop's Dogg Pound, the Face Mob was a collective of top notch, then unknown emcees who were hungry as hell, and full of fire. Their explosive debut, and only long player "The Other Side of the Law" was another critical favorite, but internal complications soon broke up the group, and Devin -- at the request of Scarface and James Smith -- began working on his solo album, "The Dude."


Fashioned after an old Quincy Jones album of the same name, "The Dude" was a smoothed out, funk laden, ode to everything Devin -- once again, wine, women, and weed. The classic line "I smoke weed, I drink brew, that's all I rap about cuz shit that's all I do," from "One Day at a Time," kind of sums up the bulk of this stoner classic. But the unique beats laid by the Coughee Brothaz, Scarface, Tone Capone, N.O. Joe, JB, and Devin himself sounded like each producer saved their tightest tracks for just this album. While the subject matter may seem played out on the surface, wasn't nothin' played out or recycled about it. Devin is the poet laureate of stoned soul, and ain't no reason for him to deviate from what works best for him. Anyone who's ever smoked a blunt, kissed a girl, then made her cry, or vice versa, can relate.

"The Dude" did well in the streets with no video and virtually no promotion whatsoever. It even inspired long time fan, Dr. Dre to give him a call and ask him to come represent on his Chronic 2001 album. "I was sitting at the crib man," The Dude remembers, "and my manager called and said 'Stay right there, Dre about to call you.' I thought that shit was a joke man, but then a little while later, the phone rang and it was Dre wanting to hook up on a track." The result was the underground smash "Fuck You," which featured Dev on the hook and smack dab in the middle of Dre and Snoop. Despite it's off color title, the edited version of this track, due to it's hot hook and infectious beat, made it on to just as many radio stations as the legitimate singles on the album did. The X rated, underground video lit up more than a few sets as well, and just a few months later Devin was on the road, performing with some of the biggest names in hip-hop history -- Dre, Snoop Dogg, The DOC, and Eminem to name a few -- on the Up In Smoke Tour.
People began talking like Devin might have left Rap A Lot and signed to Dre's label Aftermath, but that couldn't be further from the truth. "A lot of people even close to me figured that." Devin continues, "Probably the tour made them think that. They just figured that what you see on TV is true." But the reality is, Devin's a family man, and family is in Houston with the folks who first put him on.


Since "Fuck You" he's recorded with Raphael Saddiq (on the "Baby Boy" soundtrack), UGK (on "Dirty Money"), De La Soul ("Baby Phat"), Bun B and Mddl Fngz (on the down south classic "4 o'clock In the Mornin'"), and he dropped a touching, solo tribute to his brother -- who's been locked up for the past ten years -- entitled "Can't Wait" on the Oz Soundtrack.

His second album, entitled "Just Tryin' To Live" picked up where "The Dude" left off and kept with the formula that made him famous, while delving into more introspective and deep themes on a few cuts. The album was produced mostly by Devin and his Coughee Brothaz Rob and Domo, with T-Mixx, Dr. Dre, and DJ Premier poppin' up to lay some love. The title track sums up Devin 2002 and his crew's present views on life beautifully. Devin explains, "Well, first of all, people be getting a lot of shit twisted in the rap game, thinking it's one way, and it's really not. There's a lot of work involved, and people, they expect you to be a certain way. But as a profession it needs to be taken a little more serious. My Coughee Brothers, Odd Squad is on that song along with my boys Tre and Manchild, and everybody has different views on it. If there's any example of somebody who's been in this for a minute and is still trying to make something out of it, even though sometimes it feels like there's nothing, that's us I guess. It's definitely one of my favorite songs we've worked on."
"We need to change our ways, doing the same things we did yesterday / Smokin' weed, getting' high, making beats, feelin' fly / It's just the same old shit, but I think we ain't gon' quit…"
Devin, "Just Trying to Live," 2001
"Actually if you just listen to the song," he continues, "it's not really me that's saying 'We need to change our ways.' It's almost me saying it, but it's me also saying 'But I think we ain't gonna quit.' We gonna keep doing what we doing. It's a way of life now. I'm not saying go and do all the things you was doing wrong, cuz if you got a chance to better yourself, do it. If that means doing what you do and people respect that, then you keep doing that. You think we need to change that? 'Just trying to live?' No we don't."
While that track might touch the heart and the mind a bit, Devin and company didn't forget about the lower extremities, and outside indulgences that also seem to take hold of a life. "Cock Hounds" featuring KB is like a "Show 'Em (what they pussy made for…)" part 2. "R&B" (Reefer & Beer) is an ode to what fuels this deviant family mans fire that features Country Dude -- an alter-ego companion of sorts to Devin's cool ass Dude. And "Whatever" is an extended skit that examines just how far a rapper may need to take it in order to be heard properly.
The Dr. Dre produced "It's a Shame," and the body banger "Some of 'Em" which features Nas and Xzibit, takes Devin a few steps out of his normal box. "The Doobie Ashtray," which was produced by one of the Squad's long time allies, DJ Premier, looks at the material things in life and how little they really mean. Devin compares the loss of riches, bitches, and rides to the remnants of joints and blunts that lie in ashtrays the world over. "If you don't have any weed left you can always go back to the doobie ashtray", Dev explains. "But sometimes when you go back to that and it's gone, you can feel like you lost a whole bunch of stuff. So to some people who have a lot of this or a lot of that, they lose it and they go crazy."
From feeling down in the dumps from running out of weed, or losing your riches, whichever applies to you, we come to the most playful, yet touching track of the set, "Ha Ha," a song about digging in the trash. "When I lived in Florida I used to listen to a radio station called WXRB, in St. Petersburg. We lived right in front of it, and they would throw a lot of stuff away. Promotional records that were a little scratched and they couldn't play it. So every once in a while we'd be walking by there, see something and I'd get in that dumpster and grab it. Take it home and jam. And sometimes kids would laugh at me, but they didn't know what gems I was taking home."

Then just over one year later, Devin dropped his third studio release on Rap-A-Lot Records, To The Xtreme. Another classic, To The Xtreme showcased a more grown Devin with songs like “Briar Patch,” “Anything” and “Cooder Brown,” delving outside the realm of the Dude’s usual subject matter of pussy, weed and alcohol.
The single “Anything,” which was produced by Houston’s Cory Mo, was a huge southern hit with its laid back groove dedicated to giving thanks for what you’ve got rather than lusting after what you don’t have. To The Xtreme proved that there is a method to the Dude’s madness and brought him to all new levels in the world of hip-hop. Devin’s fan base spans the entire world and throughout 2005 he’s started to visit his international fans face to face. Trips to Amsterdam, Denmark and Canada have seen sold out crowds, starving for years to finally see the dude, finally get their fix. In 2006 Devin plans to “Hit every country on the planet that will have me,” starting with a mini tour of Eastern Canada and the major cities in Europe in February/March. Catch Devin the Dude on tour in a city near you throughout 2006.
For more information check out my International Booking Agent's site http://houstonsoreal.blogspot.com - Matt keeps up with me and gets the job done.
so there it is kids. if you didn't know devin before, now you do...
i'm promoting the show in london, and opening for it. devin's also bringing up dj rapid ric from austin, peep his site here, and his myspace page here. i'll be performing tracks from the ok cobra album, and toolshed will also be in the house, along with dj butter the butcher, and dj druncnes monster.
Tuesday, January 17, 2006
Sunday, January 15, 2006
party's over...

so i took a vacation from my vacation, in order to get some work done. but now it's over. i'm back to work tonight. i've had ten days off. it's been heaven. i think i've permanently damaged my spine with the amount of time i've spent hunched over my laptop. made a lot of progress. the book is coming along nicely, thanks for asking.
i was sitting here last night when a friend pops up on msn and says "hey ryan, i just walked in my door, turned on the radio, and they were playing your stuff." which is nice to hear. i just checked out the cbc radio 3 website, and apparently they made a list of their top 94 songs of 2005 (why 94? i have no idea). anyway, "time flies" is number 75, which i think is pretty cool considering we don't even have a record out. listen to it here.
we're repressing the cd soon... and hopefully we'll figure out a way to get it into stores and make a video and all that other band type stuff...
Saturday, January 14, 2006
people are strange...

a couple of funny bar stories from the last few weeks...

about the only i find more hilarious than wannabe thug wiggers are stupid criminals. this story combines both. it's a sunday or monday, so i'm working by myself at the bar. these two wannabes come in. i love it. man, if any of you out there want to become a comedian, just find yourself a couple of white suburban rap thugs to hang out with for a while. they're a goldmine of comedic material. anyway, the bar i work specializes in microbrews and speciality import beers. most of the beers are served in their own specific pint glasses. these two thugs order two pints of erdinger, which is a german wheat beer, served in a beautiful glass, tall and rounded. a couple of minutes later they're gone. i figure they're just outside on the front deck having a cigarette. no big deal. a regular customer comes in from outside and says "i just saw these two guys running down the street with their pints." shit. i run outside, but they're long gone. the thugs have stolen our glasses. i'm pissed. i go back inside. after a while, i remember... oh yeah, the idiot paid for those two beers on his credit card. hey stupid, guess how much those glasses cost? well, we usually sell them to people for five bucks, but the price just went up. how much should i charge? oh, let's say $25 per glass. two glasses. that's $50. on your credit card. idiot. the moral of the story? i should have known something was up from the get go, 'cause first of all, thugs don't drink wheat beer. the secondly, hey idiot, if you're going to steal something from a bar, don't buy something first on your credit card. we can then CHARGE YOU for whatever you steal. i would have sold you those glasses for ten bucks, and now i'm charging you fifty for it. how do you say, WHAT! WHAT! ha ha...

here's my second story. i'm working at the bar. a woman and a man come in for drinks, and it's not that busy, so i'm chatting them up a bit. she's a few years older than me, i'd guess mid-30's, slightly heavier but not unattractive. he's also probably in his mid-30's, and clearly gay. after a few drinks and a little bit of conversation, he leaves, but she stays. she's about 3-4 pints into it now, when she asks me if i'll have a drink with her. at this point the bar is getting a little busier, i politely decline with a "thanks but not right now, maybe later..." and get back to work. a little while goes by, and she's up at the bar. "will you have a drink with me?" "no, i don't feel like a drink now, but thank you." "will you have one later with me?" i reply "perhaps later," not as an invitation to stay around, but simply as a quick way out of the conversation. a little while later she's at the bar again, and leans in to me... "do you have a girlfriend?" now, if i had of been a bit more on my toes, i would have simply answered "yes" to end the thought in her mind. however, i paused for a moment, and then not knowing what to say, i fumbled the ball and said "uh, i don't know," thereby thwarting my own escape. "what am i supposed to do with that?" "uh, i mean, yes, i do, sorry..." too late. damn. i fucked up. she then asks me "what are you doing after work? should i wait for you?" i reply with "no, that's okay, thank you, i'm flattered, but no..." see, the thing is, it's not that she wasn't attractive, or that i wasn't tempted, but the truth of the matter is, i'm really not in the habit of going home with woman who's been drinking all night when i'm stone sober. what kind of man would that make me? it's just not something i'm going to do. many a night i have been out drinking, and gone home with another person out drinking, but the thing is, we're both drinking. it's a mutual mistake. anyway, this woman, now good and drunk, decides now that she hates me. literally ten seconds after i turn down her offer of late-night company, she's making out with some random dude by the fireplace. and every time i walk by with a tray of drinks she leans over and says "i hate you." well, karma be damned, she's got her coat draped over a chair, and at one point i walk by with a bunch of pints, she leans in to say she hates me, knocking over the guy she's making out with, who falls into me, and sends all of the drinks i'm carrying all over her coat. it's covered in beer. i say "is this your coat?" she says "i hate you." no you don't. i'm laughing inside, when i see her and the random guy getting ready to go. as they're walking past the bar on their way to the door, she leans into me and says "if i come back when you close, can we hook up?" jesus. are you serious? you're falling all over yourself drunk, spilling beer on things, making out with some random guy in an attempt to make jealous some other random guy you just met, and you're asking him if you can come back to hang out with him, after you go home with random guy to do god knows what? people are strange...
Friday, January 13, 2006
3 girls, 2 guys and a broken down golf cart...

so last night i'm out with *****, we're having a beer, and then we decide to go to the liquor store before heading back to his house to meet some people. we pick up a bottle of jack and there are three cuties in line behind us. no big deal, we walk over to the grocery store to pick up some mix, and when we come out to the parking lot, the same three girls are standing around their car, with jumper cables, trying to get a jump from some woman. being the gentlemen that we are, we offer to help. what this really means is ***** is going to help while i stand there looking stupid and making jokes. we try and try, and the car won't start, so we offer the ladies a lift downtown. they were on their way to pick up a friend, so we swing by her place, and now it's just myself and ***** and four girls in the back of the car. we get to the apartment building they are going to, and pull up to the door. the girls say thank you and offer to give us gas money for the lift. we politely decline. they then invite us inside for a drink, as a way to say thank you. i'm all about it, but ***** has somebody waiting at his house for him. the one girl says that they're having a party, some sort of school group, and something to the effect of "you guys should come up, you'd be the only guys hanging out with 30 hot girls." i'm feeling like i'm either in a horror movie or on the penthouse letters page. this is either some female cult who get together and trick guys into coming into their place so they can torture and kill them, or i'm going to end up in the middle of the pillow fight every man wants to find himself caught up in. so i say, "*****, let's go in for one drink." and ***** says "no, we have to go, *****'s waiting for us." and i say "*****, fuck that, call her cell phone and make up some excuse, the car broke down, blame me, whatever." he's not hearing me. we end up going back to *****'s house and i will never forgive him. it's the principle of it. i don't care if you're on your way to surgery. if you get invited into a party of 30 women where you're the only two guys, you do it. every guy should understand that this never happens, so when it does happen, you have to run with it. and even if you have a girlfriend, any good girl will understand the sacrifice you had to make to play wingman for your buddy.






























