i hate poets...

i really, really, really hate poets.
so they call me in to work early last night, it's supposed to be busy for some poetry reading. great. they leave me a message to come in at six. i get the message at quarter after six. i get there at quarter to seven. i walk in and some guy is playing the cello to a room half full of people i would never want to talk to in a million years. after cello boy is done, a few of them take turns getting up on the microphone and giving the most boring readings you've ever heard in your life. they're reading from some well known writers, but jesus, they give absolutely nothing of themselves. plus, most of them don't drink. why are you in a bar? aren't there coffee and tea-houses for this stuff? eventually, the "featured poet" goes up, and proceeds to bore the christ out of christmas. all i'm thinking the whole time she's up there is "are these your words? you wrote these? do they mean anything to you? if so, then why are you reading them out loud like you're reading the newspaper or quoting stock prices? zero feeling. i don't believe you..." seriously. if you wrote this shit and it's supposed to be important to you, show that. put on a show. let out even a hint of emotion, please. these are words!! fuck, they have power, they can get inside people, but all you'll let them do is fall out of your mouth to the floor and turn to dust. pathetic. i hate poets. fuck you.
really, i hate most "artists" in general. kids, listen... there is only one reason in your life to make art: BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO. that's it. i'll say it again: BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO. if you have no choice at all in life BUT to make art, then shit, you don't have a choice, do you? if you CHOOSE to make art, then you don't really need to be there, fuck off. this goes for all wannabe writers, painters, sketchers, poets, actors, musicians, singers, dancers, etc. art is not cool. it is a painful, shitty, cancer-ridden, depressing, uncertain, anxiety-filled blur of a half-lived life. go rock-climbing or something.
sincerely,
fuck you,
ryan


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home